PTSD, TBI, Sex and Relationships


After 26 years of marriage, we’ve only just now started opening up more, having conversations about these very topics. I have not been able to put them into words yet. I am still processing. But this….this post explains it all. I will return here and re-read and re-read until I can understand it better. I don’t think I can fully understand what goes on in his mind. I don’t think he ever wants me to, either. But this blog post helps me tremendously. I do hope it helps you too.

Life After War

You came back different. Changed. You can’t really describe  it, but you’re not yourself. Not who you used to be. You’re angry. Blow up at stupid shit. Lack other emotions. Feel numb. Tired. Disinterested in stuff that used to be interesting. Tense. Sleepless. Have nightmares that scare the hell out of you. Forget shit. Can’t focus. You miss your buddies. Miss the war. Miss the ones you lost. Miss feeling like you used to feel. Before.

He came home. Different. Instead of you being able to step back and let him take over sharing the household, childcare and financial responsibilities, you have to take care of him now, too. He’s angry. Silent, except when he’s mad. He can’t remember shit. Seems unmotivated. And distant. He’s up all night; keeps you up all night. Spends more time on the sofa than in bed. Keeps loaded guns around the house. Is edgy…

View original post 1,980 more words

2 thoughts on “PTSD, TBI, Sex and Relationships

  1. lexacain

    I bet it really helps to know there are many women in the same position you’re in. These complaints don’t seem much different from my own, only my husband doesn’t have a good reason like being injured. Have a good weekend. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. LadyJai Post author

      That was my hole issue before a few years ago….I thought I truly was alone! That no one could ever understand. But here we are. Knowing that there are others out their going through the same hardships, the same emotions, while not entirely the same situations, has made me feel so much better. I’m sorry you have to deal with some of these issues. Hope you have a lovely weekend! ❤
      Jai

      Like

      Reply

I'm very interested in what you have to say. Do you have similar circumstances, feelings, or just want to encourage me to keep going? Please leave a note to let me know.

