Spring & Gardening, Slowly – #CelebrateTheSmallThings – 10 April 2015


Spring has been in full swing here for at least a month. Allergies notwithstanding. But it’s still my favorite time of year. I love seeing the life and color come from the muted tones of the earth. It is promise being fulfilled. A time when life springs from death. Color pops through the dull. Hope shines through the dreary. And I get to witness it’s rebirth!

I cannot go out in the flower bed and work as much as I like anymore. I don’t have the help of TheHubs because of his photo-phobia, pain, and fear levels. So, I’ve been taking it slow. I need to weed. I need to trim. And I need to clean up after all that’s done. It’s a real struggle when I am the one who does it all. I work full-time and come home to everything that involves running a family and the home. And then, there’s fibromyalgia. It puts a HUGE damper on what I can do and for how long.

I managed to take my time this year. I trimmed 4 lantanas one day, 5 the next. And so on, until they were done. I even made TheBoy come out and help me with the cleanup. I’ve never required this of him before. For me, it’s a struggle to ask for help. Always has been. I learned this a few years ago when a co-worker pointed it out to me about how I work. Now I can see it in the home as well. And since TheBoy is old enough to help out now, it should be a responsibility for him. It’s still hard to ask him, though. I managed, and for that I am proud of myself.

He did it. It took him a few days but he cleaned my mess up. Complaining all the way. But, he’s 12. I thank him every time he’s done, though. To make sure he gets the praise and sense of accomplishment. I also make sure to tell him that it really helps me out because I can’t do it all by myself anymore.

He seems to be choosing the wrong words now, which frustrates me. I am doing my best not to get upset with him when he says, “So is fibromyalgia going to be your excuse for everything, now?” He’s still a boy. He’s young. I am trying to show him better words to use because that really hurts me. I hope he can see that. And I hope he realizes it and LEARNS from it. Because mine is a new diagnosis. But with his father, does he think that the pain is always an “excuse”?

Raising a child is trying enough; but raising one in the home of a disabled veteran, well, we have even more trials to deal with.

Regardless, I’ve got him out there helping me clean up the mess. He always has enjoyed helping me trim my roses. It’s the cleanup part that he is complaining about now. I still have a little bit of trimming and weeding to do around my roses. Plus I ordered a couple more plants to add to the flower bed. But I’ve got my lantanas looking nice, with room to grow, and my roses about to bloom.

I hope you enjoy Spring and the promise of hope it brings, as much as I do. Enjoy my Spring pictures 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you celebrating this week? 

Thank you to our lovely host, Lexa Cain for taking over and continuing the Celebrate the Small Things blog hop. I would also like to thank her co-hosts, L.G. Keltner @ Writing Off The Edge and Katie @ TheCyborgMom – without them, I’m sure this would be a daunting task!

To be part of this blog hop, all you have to do is put your name on the linky list on Lexa’s Blog, and then post every Friday about something you’re grateful  for that week.  It can be about writing or family or school or general life.  This is the funnest and easiest blog hop ever! (Originated by VikLit)

Related Articles you may like:
1st Published Poem
Florida Caverns
There Are Always Positives

LadyJai

3 thoughts on “Spring & Gardening, Slowly – #CelebrateTheSmallThings – 10 April 2015

  1. Katie thecyborgmom

    Sorry I missed this last week. I can relate to this post so much! My 11 year old son has been acting very similar lately. I think it’s the age, honestly. My daughter was similar at that age, but now that she’s in high school, she has been better. Still, it doesn’t make it hurt any less, does it? As for my gardening problems…I now pay someone to keep up with the flower beds and such. I just can’t do it…the pain is unbearable and I got tired of the outside of my house looking like crap. Luckily, we can afford for my garden lady to come once a month during the spring/summer. It costs me around $140 and she’s here for 4 hours…which is just enough to keep stuff trimmed back and weeded. Hang in there with your son…it will get better and I am convinced that our children will grow up to be more caring and empathetic adults!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. LadyJai Post author

      Thank you so much, Katie. I’ve been noticing a few things with my son, emotionally. At home, he’s reserved, never smiles, hunches and pretty much locks himself away, never goes outside. When he’s with his friends, he is still quite reserved and slouchy. But he does smile and laugh. Maybe it’s us? We’re not cool enough? Maybe it’s puberty because he is starting that. It sucks, but I know I’m not alone and I hope and pray that he will come around.

      Like

      Reply
  2. lexacain

    I was quite disrespectful when young. I hated to do chores and complained all the way b/c it felt as if I was doing a favor for someone who didn’t do me any (yes, very stupid). I think it would have been better if a chore list was tied to an allowance. That way I would have connected the work to getting something I wanted. Hang in there, and have a good weekend!

    Like

    Reply

I'm very interested in what you have to say. Do you have similar circumstances, feelings, or just want to encourage me to keep going? Please leave a note to let me know.

