The Month of Love – #CelebrateTheSmallThings – 6 Feb 2015


This is the first Celebrate The Small Things post for the month of LOVE. While I’m not big into Valentines and the whole guilt laying trip everyone puts on the guys, I do believe in LOVE, ALL YEAR LONG!

Two days ago, I started with myself. I posted about how I need to stop bullying myself and start loving ME. It has been a long, hard road to get out of the dark place, but I’m there. I may slip from time to time, but the more I practice my positives the smaller bumps in the road and the shorter time I remain.

Mid January, I started a daily challenge where I would take a selfie each day and find one positive thing about me to go along with the words “I AM…” I posted some of the pictures in another Celebrate The Small Things post. To follow on with that, you can see the rest of my “I AM” Challenge photo’s below.

I am deepinging my smile lines. They are not wrinkles. They are not crows feet. They are smile lines. They are my badge of honor and I will wear them proudly. I am working on deepening them. The deeper they get, the more smiles I have had in my life. And I want to have them deep as fault lines because that means I’ve had more smiles than not.

The one thing we can do as a whole family!

Even on the bad days, I have to find the positives no matter how small so I can get through!

I am determined to be cheerful and happy, in whatever situation I may be. I have learned from experience that the bigger picture, the greater part of my happiness or misery, depends on my perspective. I am determined to change the way I see things, for the better, more positive and loving. I am determined to worry less about things I cannot control, love more deeply, and smile more often. I am determined to show the love that lives inside me.

I am treasuring small moments in our lives. It’s these moments I can see through the pain.

I am trying so hard to accept my flaws, especially my acne. I never had acne as a teenager. But when I turned 24 or so, that’s when I got adult acne. It was so horrible. Deep, red, painful welts. I just *knew* everyone was staring at me thinking just how horrid I looked. I became so distraught, depressed, it caused some problems in my marriage, problems that my brain made up which sent me on a downward spiral. I tried everything to get it all under control, including prescription medication and changing my diet. Nothing worked. It took many, many years before Proactiv to come on the market and one day, TheHubs bought it. I tried it and it got it under control. Sure I would get small pimples during that time of the month, no more deep, painful welts. Today, due ti health issues, I’ve had to come off my birth control. My body is still adjusting and the hormones have triggered the acne again. You can see the pimples along my chin. But because they are the deep painful ones again, they are always at the forefront of my mind, which makes me think EVERYONE focuses on them and how it makes me ugly. I have to remember, these things are temporary and that they don’t make me any less beautiful and don’t make me who I am.

IMG_20150204_065643.sm

The older I get the less I seem to care what people think of me, or so I thought. It wasn’t until recently, when I started my healing path last year, did I realize I still worry what people think, especially how I saw myself. I started on a new quest, a quest to change how I see myself and how I think. I am making a point to see myself through a more positive vision and speak of myself, others, and the world with more positive word choices. I am genuine, loyal, kind, empathetic, caring, and loving – always have been. Before, though, I thought I did it to a fault. My heart is so full that when I didn’t receive what I sent out, it broke my heart to pieces, making me think that no one loved or appreciated me or my giving qualities. In turn, it made me think I was such an awful person. I’ve come to realize my loving nature is who I am. Not everyone will like that, and that’s ok. If I can impress on them some goodness, maybe one day they will change. And we need more love and kindness in the world. No matter how many people cannot see me for me and treasure the love I send out to them, I will continue to love, not only everyone around me, but ME.

It takes 30 days to make a habit. I hope this has inspired you to think differently about yourself, to change your perspective and stop bullying yourself and start loving YOU! If you do something like this, let me know! I’d love to come cheer you on!

Thank you to our lovely host, Lexa Cain for taking over and continuing the Celebrate the Small Things blog hop. I would also like to thank her co-hosts, L.G. Keltner @ Writing Off The Edge and Katie @ TheCyborgMom – without them, I’m sure this would be a daunting task!

To be part of this blog hop, all you have to do is put your name on the linky list on Lexa’s Blog, and then post every Friday about something you’re grateful  for that week.  It can be about writing or family or school or general life.  This is the funnest and easiest blog hop ever! (Originated by VikLit)

LadyJai

5 thoughts on “The Month of Love – #CelebrateTheSmallThings – 6 Feb 2015

  1. lexacain

    I can’t tell you how happy it makes me to read this and see all your pics! Women in particular need to learn to love themselves, preferably at an early age. I know too many women who’ve suffered through depression and awful situations because they believed they didn’t deserve better. You do a heck of a lot and should be proud of yourself! Have a great weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. My Miracle Life

    Beautiful pictures LadyJai! I love that you’re doing this challenge. From the photos alone I can see you glow. 🙂 I may try something similar soon; I’m working through some other things right now.

    Thinking about you and the fams. Hugs to everyone! Eva

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I'm very interested in what you have to say. Do you have similar circumstances, feelings, or just want to encourage me to keep going? Please leave a note to let me know.

