Back In The Habit – #CelebrateTheSmallThings – 16 Jan 2015


Today is Friday! That means it’s time to Celebrate The Small Things.
We have a new sponsor for this blog hop so please be sure to stop by Lexa Cain’s website and re-input your link to participate. The old linky address will be retired soon.

So, what am I celebrating this week?

1) This week started a mirror/selfie challenge with my online caregiver support group. On Jan. 12, each day for 2 weeks we are to write “I am ____” with dry erase on the mirror. Fill in the blank with anything positive & snap a picture. Or we could  just snap a selfie & add text! We will be uploading them to the Trench Talk Facebook page and of course our own social medias!” I have done this for 5 days straight now. I love doing this as it helps eliminate the negative self-talk. Here’s what I have so far:

 

2) I’m learning to heal. I’ve had 2 sessions with my therapist and am really liking him. I am learning a lot about myself, and his affirmation that I am not a bad person I hope sinks in and sticks! I don’t think I am a bad person. But when things don’t go the way I intend them to, my brain has a tendency to pop up those auto-thoughts and then the negative voice starts screaming at me again. A few days ago I wrote about chewing the cud and how it can be detrimental to the emotional state, how it can feed the negativity and depression. I really, REALLY, need to get out of this habit.

3) Having a near all night conversation with TheHubs about what’s going on inside both our brains. While it may not seem to be a good thing because I always end up crying and feeling down and then the cud comes back up, in the long run we aren’t both imagining the worst when it comes to particular things that we “think” the other is doing/thinking. Those auto-thoughts are never going to go away, but you can try to stop them in their path. The greatest thing you can use against them is communication.

LadyJai

3 thoughts on “Back In The Habit – #CelebrateTheSmallThings – 16 Jan 2015

  1. lexacain

    That is the best most positive idea for improving self-image I ever heard. Your pics were great — and the “bad hair day” cracked me up! Yes, you were definitely rocking that look! Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. patiencehcmason

    Great pictures. I realized after I was older that my critical messages were what my mother had said in her immature attempts to make me safe. She had this idea that if I were perfect, nothing bad would happen. This is not a grownup idea, but she didn’t meant to harm me, but to protect me. As a kid, I simply felt there was something wrong with me. So now when the voice starts, instead of telling it to shut the F up, I try to visualize Miss Perfection, my name for that voice, and tell her I know she means well, but more criticism doesn’t help. Then I give her an imaginary hug. This works for me. She has even said take it easy on yourself to me since I started this.

    Like

    Reply
    1. LadyJai Post author

      Oh that’s such an amazing way to cope with those negative voices. I’m still learning where they all come from. Is it my over exaggerated expectation of perfection? Is it my parents not giving me enough praise? I can’t completely pin point it. But I know it’s there. Maybe I need to name that voice. Hmmmm that’s going to be as hard as coming up with a name for a character in my stories. 😛 But thank you very much for getting me to think of another way to handle this.

      Like

      Reply

I'm very interested in what you have to say. Do you have similar circumstances, feelings, or just want to encourage me to keep going? Please leave a note to let me know.

